Ajit Agarkar, Maninder Singh, Chetan Sharma, SS Das in fray for selector job

NEW DELHI: The Indian cricket board (BCCI) will have a strong field to choose its three new members in the senior national selection committee. TOI has learnt that former India pacers Ajit Agarkar and Chetan Sharma have applied for the job along with former India left-arm spinner Maninder Singh and opener Shiv Sunder Das. With four hours to go for the deadline for applications on Sunday, these four names emerged as the strongest candidates.
The sticky issue that the BCCI has to deal with is that if they still want to go by the tradition of having selectors representing zones. Sunil Joshi and Harvinder Singh were brought in as selectors earlier this year and their appointment meant BCCI maintained the zonal policy. However, the renewed BCCI constitution doesn’t specify the policy and states that the best five candidates should be appointed.
The board, on its part, has maintained it’s not following a zonal policy which is why they didn’t mention in the job requirements. This meant Agarkar and Maninder had applied the previous time as well. There’s been confusion over if such candidates needed to re-apply. Before the lockdown, BCCI president Sourav Ganguly had confirmed to TOI that Agarkar and Maninder’s applications would stand. However, both of them have decided to reapply to stay on the safer side.
“I had applied the last time. No communication came from BCCI’s end as to if we had to reapply or not,” Maninder told TOI.
TOI also understands that Agarkar is a strong favourite to become the chairman of the selection committee going by international experience.
The confusion over the existence of the zonal policy has meant there’s a lot of uncertainty over candidates from the east zone. Former Bengal pacer Ranadeb Bose has also applied. It may be noted that Chetan Sharma had also represented Bengal in first-class cricket for a brief period.
There’s also a theory going around that the BCCI could elevate former India pacer Debasis Mohanty from being the chairman of junior selection committee to the senior senior panel and accommodate Bose in the junior selection committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.