‘No shame in losing to a better team’: Gavaskar rallies behind Team India

NEW DELHI: Team India’s 10-match winning streak in the ODI World Cup came to an end with a six-wicket defeat against Australia in the final in Ahmedabad on Sunday.
Australia dished out an all-round performance and outplayed in all departments of the game to win their record-extending sixth World Cup title at the Narendra Modi Stadium.Despite being in formidable form, India, who were anticipated to put an end to their ICC trophy drought, had their golden opportunity to lift the coveted trophy in front of the home crowd thwarted by Australia.
However, the legendary former Indian cricketer Sunil Gavaskar threw his weight behind Team India, stating that he is immensely proud of the effort they displayed throughout the tournament. He emphasised that there is no shame in losing to a superior team.
“I’m sad but we should be mighty proud of this Indian team. Sometimes it doesn’t go our way, but they’ve played excellent cricket. I’m super proud of them. No shame in losing to a better team, Australia were a much better side today,” Gavaskar told the official broadcasters after the match.

Australia beat India by 6 wickets, win record-extending 6th title | World Cup 2023 Final | INDvsAUS

In pursuit of a challenging target of 241 in the final, Australia found themselves at 47-3 before the left-handed opener Travis Head played a brilliant innings, scoring 137 runs and guiding the team to victory with seven overs to spare.
Head’s impressive performance, particularly his formidable partnership of 192 with the unbeaten Marnus Labuschagne (58), brought an end to India’s dominant streak of 10 consecutive unbeaten matches in the event.
Australia elected to field first and the players backed up skipper Pat Cummins’ decision with disciplined bowling and impressive fielding.
Virat Kohli and KL Rahul hit 54 and 66 respectively after Rohit’s attacking 47 but the ball dominated the bat on a slow, dry pitch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *